Glossray Timeline Contact FAQ
Athena Student Interns Program
Lesson Plans
More Resources
Kids Educators Mars Facts The Mission Gallery News Home

ASIP

Wheaton Warrenville South High School – Wheaton, IL

Tim (teacher): I am a first-year teacher at the high school level, but not a first-year educator. Prior to becoming a high school science teacher, I worked in higher education for over 10 years in various capacities. I have extensive experience in advising and mentoring students. I grew up in Milwaukee, WI. I have two masters’ degrees - one in higher education and one in secondary education. Besides enjoying science and astronomy, I like doing anything outdoors. I am an avid camper, hiker, and fisherman.

Brianna (student): I’m seventeen years old and a junior at Wheaton-Warrenville South H.S. in Wheaton, IL. I live in Wheaton with my mom Julie and stepfather John, along with my sister Emily, my stepsister Erin, and my stepbrother John Patrick (J.P.). I want to major in aerospace engineering, and eventually work for NASA and hopefully become an astronaut. Failing that I want to work on the space shuttle and/or other spacecraft. Although I don’t yet know exactly what college I want to go to yet, among the ones I am considering are Purdue U. in Indiana, Florida I of T, and Embry Riddle Aeronautical U. in Arizona for their aerospace engineering programs.

Filadelfo (Fila) (student): I was born in Mexico and lived in Mexico City until I was 12 years old. I learned English in my first year in the United States. I have one older brother (Daniel) and one older sister (Monica). I am very ambitious; I got my first job when I was 10 years old. I really want to learn more about Mars.